Views
Helpful
Replies

Newb - configure 2900xl - help is paid for with cookies

peter.kasson
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Group,

Recently obtained a 2924XL and went through the reset and initial configuration successfully.

I am new to configuring switches, but did get an ip assigned to the vlan 1 interface.

Q1:  Can you use a normal CAT 5 cable or is there a cross-over or other to connect from home linksys switch to this ?

Q2:  I try to "no shut" any of the ether interfaces, and it quickly goes from up to down

Q3:  Dont know if I should upgrade (currently IOS 12), but the flash shows < 500k free, and I cant see where anything else is to delete to prep for upgrade.

Thanks for any assistance !

Peter

3 Replies 3

IAN WHITMORE
Level 4
Level 4

Q1:  Can you use a normal CAT 5 cable or is there a cross-over or other to connect from home linksys switch to this ?

I would use a cross-over cable personally. I don't know what model of linksys you have, some are auto cross-over, but to be sure use a cross over cable.

Q2:  I try to "no shut" any of the ether interfaces, and it quickly goes from up to down

If you don't have anything connected ot the interfaces of course they will be down. It will be "admin" up but "line protocol" down. It's normal.

Q3:  Dont know if I should upgrade (currently IOS 12), but the flash shows < 500k free, and I cant see where anything else is to delete to prep for upgrade.

No, you would need to delete the actual ios (.bin file) and then upload the new one. Of course you must not restart the switch in between because then you would have to upload a new ios from rommon via xmodem...and that takes a while. The latest version is 12.2, you might want to update it.

There are guides on Cisco to do all of this. Just search on Cisco or google.

HTH,

Ian

Ian,

Thanks for the very quick reply !

Rebuttal -