Views
Helpful
Replies

Newbie needs help Private And Public IP's on the same Interface

kjsrandhawa
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie and need some advice for set of a network.

I have to setup a new network, I have a router and switch 2960G and I have a range of Public IP address which I need to use efficiently.

I need NAT for internal hosts and public IP for the Servers/Virtual servers accessible from outside.I also want to make sure it is secure.

I thought about the scenario:

NAT & Public IP's

Hosts-------------------------------Switch-----------------ROUTER /30---------------ISP

NAT             Servers -------------|

Public IP's

Configure two subinterfaces on Ethernet interface of router, with two different addresses. Host will use private address and router will do NAT . The other address will be public and the servers will have public addresses. A configuration for the scenario will be helpful, do you know if this could be possible and if not then please can you suggest the best posssible solution for this? Do I need a firewall for this?

Thanks in advance

Jeet

6 Replies 6

cadet alain
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

take a look here http://www.cisco.com/en/US/technologies/tk648/tk361/tk438/technologies_white_paper09186a0080091cb9.html

Your design is not good: you can't do nat on the 2960, you must do it on the router or use a firewall.

for your servers: use static PAT

Regards.

Alain.

Don't forget to rate helpful posts.

Hi Alain,

Thank you for your reply.

I apologize for the wrong diagram, what I meant was that router to be configured for doing NAT and also giving out Public IP's to the servers on same interface.

NAT & Public IP's

|

Hosts-------------------------Switch-----------------------------ROUTER /30---------------ISP

NAT IP's             Servers --------|

Public IP's