Views
Helpful
Replies

Noob Campus Switching Question

justincG2
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, 

I am a system and software engineer, but had some networking stuff fall into a pretty unique project for some Egyptian Clients.  I understand networking and VLANs, but mostly from an F5 LTM and VMWare perspective, so I've been struggling with what I feel should be pretty simple. 

I have a Catalyst 4500x as the core switch, and 18 Catalyst 3650s powering 14 buidings.  I have 4 stacks of 2 switches, and the campus is linked by OS2 Fiber and LC Connectors. 

The entire network is on a private IP range of 134.177.0.0/16.  The core switch is 134.177.255.1 the campus switches are 134.177.255.91, with the last octet representing the building number.  Internally, the IP space is 134.177.91.0/24.  These VLANs are managed by DHCP

Pretty straightforward setup, but I'm missing something.  

All 3650 connections are on the Gi1/1/1 port.  When I use that port as a trunk, the client PCs get an IP address from an upstream DHCP server.  When I switch it to an access port, the PCs get IP addresses from the switches DHCP, and can talk to each other, but cannot reach anything outside the switch. 

Seems like the configuration should be easy, but I'm probably using the wrong terminology in my searches, so any help would be appreciated!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Thanks for the additional explanation. I find some things in the diagram confusing, but since the diagram deals with a high level view of the complete project and we are dealing with details of one building I believe that we can save any discussion of the diagram for a later time wen we have the one building working.