cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Out of Band network

abarb002
Level 1
Level 1

Seeking input of setting up an out of band network using a switch that is not connected to the main network to management network switches outside of my core switch. It is a requirement to have an out of band management switch that is not on my main network . I'm new to this and have been researching, but am looking for thoughts from anyone who has done this before.

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi
couple of ways to do it , we passed it through our PA firewalls , you can use the physical MGMT ports on each switch or a dedicated vlan if no mgmt port available , connect them all back to the mgmt switch by Ethernet , giving each port matching vlan as per the subnet applied on physical interface , connect the management switch to a firewall , firewall should have an ip interface same space as the mgmt network and have full reach ability to it

From 1 of my DC nexus switches connects back to a mgmt switch

interface mgmt0
description OOB.TRUSTED.SERVER
vrf member management
ip address x.x.x.x/23

vrf context management
ip domain-name xxxxx.com
ip name-server x.x.x.x x.x.x.x
ip route 0.0.0.0/0 firewall IP

From the mgmt switch its connected too

interface GigabitEthernet1/0/7
description xxxxxxxxxx to N5K-C5612 mgmt0
switchport access vlan 1226
switchport mode access

interface Vlan1226 ----------------same subnet as mgmt port
description oob.trusted
ip address x.x.x.x.255.255.254.0

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 firewall IP here

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

Jaderson Pessoa
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni
Hello

out of band normally is used to manage your network's device/services. It is a traffic that do not participate of your enterprise network.

here your will find a good topic about it: https://learningnetwork.cisco.com/thread/86730
Jaderson Pessoa
*** Rate All Helpful Responses ***

Hi