Views
Helpful
Replies

Overbooking, WS-X4640-CSFP-E

jorel83
Level 1
Level 1

Hi peeps,

I work as a Senior Network Engineer at a metro network, and unfortunately we have a bunch of WS-X4640-CSFP-E cards in 4506E chassies with CSFP optics hence 4:1 overbooking, and to add to the horrible problem its actually on distribution level so we have zero control of the situation with overbooking on these cards, and since its a Layer 2 network and L2-garbage traffic flows in "big" L2-areas is problematic.

I tried to find information on queues or if there is any way to see fabric utilization on the Cisco 4506E chassie (sup7L, 7LE, 8 etc). Is there any way on this platform to actuallty see whats going on in the utilization part of this equipment?

No its not my design and it was a horror to find out, but it became my problem to deal with.

Thanks for any suggestions.

BR/Joel
5 Replies 5

Collin Clark
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni
'show platform ...' should give you lots of good info on how the switch is performing.

HTH

Hello,

sh platform, perhaps it will work, know any specifics on the 4500E platform? As you probably know, that command is notoriously tricky to actually get right information and then interpret it is many times more difficult due to lack of documentation (as far as I´ve experienced). I have so far not found a way to actually see the line card utilization in relation to backplane and neither no information on how the asics is grouped etc.

Basically i want something like this for the 6880 platform: https://ciscointerworking.wordpress.com/2015/06/14/asic-redundancy/

sh port capabilities gives no indication on ASIC/groupings, I assume its wirespeed on the linecard inbetween ports but i don't take it for granted.