cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Problems with software upgrade of C2960G-48TC-L.

vainkopvalery
Level 1
Level 1

Hi. I tried to upgrade software for C2960G-48TC-L from 12.2(35)SE5 to the latest 12.2.50-SE3(ED).

Upgrade was made through web interface from "c2960-lanbasek9-tar.122-50.SE3.tar" file. After all the 4 steps were succesfully finished the switch restarted & now only two orange lamps SYST & RPS are lit :(

P.S. as you certainly understood I'm new to Cisco products & my selfassurance got me into trouble, but I can't even call directly to Cisco, because our service contract ended some time ago & I suppose Cisco forum is the best place to ask in such cases.

Thank God that the network worked not only on that switch, which I "upgraded", so I just plugged users from it to the second one...

10 Replies 10

Hi Valery,

I am afraid you have perhaps the new image was corrupt. All you have to do is upload a good image using XMODEM. remember it will take longtime, but will work. Just follow the steps in this document listed for 2950, the steps are same for 2960.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/switches/ps628/products_tech_note09186a0080169696.shtml

Hope This helps...

Regards

Shaheen

If you change the xmodem and switch rate to 115200 bps the xmodem process will probably take maybe 10 minutes for a small layer 2 switch like the 2960. Usually it will indicate in the recovery doc on how to do this.

Thanks for the unswer. Here's what the terminal connection says in brief:

"

!!! WARNING: The switch is not usable !!!

Reason:

Error unsupported TCAM value size

Actual value = 1, Expected value = 20

"

Is it what you were talking about or is it smth else?

P.S. Putty's log is in attachment.

Hi,

to be honest, I have not seen these messages before....