cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

PVLAN & VTP

fabio.marino
Level 1
Level 1

Hello i'm Fabio Marino and i'm studying to prepare the 642-813 CCNP swicth exam.

My question involving interaction between private vlan and vtp.

My topology is reported below:

Lab.jpg

In brief:

---> PC0, PC1, PC3 are in the VLAN 100

---> PC2, PC4,PC5 in the VLAN 150.

--->Requests:

1)  PC1 cannot communicate with PC3

2) PC3 cannot communicate with PC3

3) PC1, PC3 can communicate with PC0

Solution Plan:

STEP1 - Configuring Trunk : All interfacess will carry normal VLAN and PVLAN, so i will use private vlan trunks

STEP1 - Configuring VLAN : I will create VLANs 100, 150 on the switch S3 (VTP Server) with remanings switch set on Client Mode.

STEP2 - Configuring PVLAN: I want to implement the private VLANs in order to satisfy requests 1,2,3. I will put all switches in transparent mode and then i will configure an isolated vlan for PC1 and PC3 and a primary vlan for PC0. I will configure pvlans in  all switches in order to maintain the security.

Questions and doubt:

1)If i configure all switches  in transparent mode in order to create PVLAN, how can i manage normal vlan? For example if i would like to rename a normal VLAN i need to configure all single switches? I mean can i have PVLAN e VTP at the same time? (i know that VTP v3 support PVLAN, but for VTPv1 and v2?)

2)I have doubt on the task "Configuring trunk": i have to use private vlan trunks or "traditional trunks" (i mean trunk as if i have normal vlan)?

Thanks, Fabio

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Fabio,