Views
Helpful
Replies

QoS DSCP processed in order or defined as to what is dropped

romanroma
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to QoS concepts, and just reading the following link:

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/switches/datacenter/nexus1000/sw/4_0/qos/configuration/guide/nexus1000v_qos/qos_6dscp_val.pdf

However, what I do not understand - is the DSCP processed in Decimal value order like in the chart or is it based on the 'drop probability' column if frames are going to get dropped or out of order?

I am rolling out VOIP and the vendor is telling me to mark all VOIP traffic for their service as EF(46) and make my company's traffic as one of the following AF(xx) values.

At this point I will most likely just strip or remark the DSCP values going into my Data Center since it appears QoS was never configured; however, I will have to work with the Data Center team.

Also, do I need to apply QoS on routed links Packets or is just related to L2 Frames?

Thank yoiu

3 Replies 3

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

". . . is the DSCP processed in Decimal value order like in the chart or is it based on the 'drop probability' column if frames are going to get dropped or out of order?"

Depends on what the QoS policy that's been applied.  Traditionally, network devices don't do any "QoS" unless configured to do so.  Some of Cisco's more recent devices, I believe, may do some basic QoS, by default.

As to what "should" happen, for various DSCP markings, there are recommendations, both from RFCs, and Cisco's (the latest of both, very similar), but how your DSCP markings are processed, is your choice.

Stripping, or remarking, your DSCP values, is also your choice.

"Also, do I need to apply QoS on routed links Packets or is just related to L2 Frames?"