cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

QoS question

bsciarra1
Level 1
Level 1

Good afternoon, over the next few months I will be implementing voice over our corporate network.  There is existing QoS config on our routers that a consultant added to prefer Video packets from our video-conferencing equipment over other network traffic.  Here is this config:

class-map match-any Voice-Video

match ip precedence 5

class-map match-any ERP

match access-group name ERP

class-map match-any Control

match ip precedence 3

!

!

policy-map MPLS-QOS

class Voice-Video

priority percent 50

set ip precedence 5

class Control

bandwidth remaining percent 25

set ip precedence 3

class ERP

bandwidth remaining percent 75

class class-default

fair-queue

random-detect

I am new to this and my questions are the following:

What is this config actually doing?

Should I separate the "Voice-Video" class and somehow prefer voice over video?

Does the router somehow implicitly know what the class "Voice-Video" means?

Will this give me the recommended measurements of Delay under 200ms and Jitter under 30ms

Sorry for the all the questions all at once but I'm trying to gain a firm understanding of this...

2 Replies 2

gohlex8848
Level 1
Level 1

Hi bsciarra1,

I'm not a QOS expert, however I try to help here with my understanding, feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

as you can see, under class map for voice-video, any traffic with Ip precedence 5 will be "categorize"

as Voice-video class.

then under policy-map, class voice-video, up to 50 percent of the link can be dedicated for this class,

however it has another action here to set the traffic to Ip precedence 5, reason for this is some time when

this policy applied on your wan interface and your provider require you to remark the QOS traffic according

to their class which probably less granularity than you have in your internal network.