Views
Helpful
Replies

QoS Trust boundaries

fabio.marino
Level 1
Level 1

Hi to all,

i'm Fabio and i'm preparing the CCNP exam switch module.

I'm studying the VoIp chapter and i'm fighting wiht the QoS Boundary Concept.

I understood tha i can have three diferrent tyoe of QoS defined:

-CoS for layer 2 data (Frame)

-IP Precedence: old L3 QoS management

-DSCP: new L3 QoS management

Based on these basic concept i'm not able to undserstand what a qos trust boundary is.

Reading i got that: whenever a packet arrives to the edge boundary, its QoS can be untrusted and the edge switch can overwrite the QoS of the incoming packet using the QoS policy adopted inside teh QoS Trust Boundary. On the contary, QoS of packets transmitted inside  the trust boundary is not modified ("trusted").

I need the get the basic concept. Is it correct what i write?

Thanks a lot, Fabio.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Fabio,

Generally IP Phones assign dscp of EF (46) to voice traffic. This is a convention to avoid incompatibility issues among vendors.

You rated previous answer 1/5 with thanks ... Not sure if you found it good or bad

Cheers,

Shashank

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

Shashank Singh
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Fabio,

Trust boundary is the interface where the marking on a packet is trusted. Beyond this interface, the packet is said to cross the trust boundary and the marking on the packet (cos for layer2 frame, dscp for layer 3 packet) is used to decide the QoS for that packet.

Before this interface, the marking on the packet is ignored and no QoS is applied.

Hope this helps,

Shashank

Please rate if you found the content useful

Thanks, so my idea was right.

In the case of an Ip-phone, for example we can have:

-an interface connect to an host PC

-an interface connect to a catalyst switch