cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Question about VLAN-membership of a trunk port

derplord1234
Level 1
Level 1

I have to find out with SNMP what VLANs a trunk port is in.

Im basically looking for a equivalent of vmVlan, 1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.68.1.2.2.1.2 that is working on trunks.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Sorry if my question wasnt clear enough, english isnt my native language and Im also rather new with this.

Don't worry - very often I have exactly the same problem.

The indexes in the output you've posted looks like 2k/3k platforms.

With those, you could use vlanTrunkPortVlansEnabled (CISCO-VTP-MIB) or other objects of vlanTrunkPortTable, but unfortunately this doesn't produce at all an output in the way you expect it (and I'm afraid there is no object which does).

enterprises.9.9.46.1.6.1.1.4.10101

7F FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF

FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF

But maybe querying the STP status (or another object in BRIDGE-MIB) could be suitable for you if you use a script which has to loop all VLANs.

Because this object belongs to the BRIDGE-MIB, you've to add the VLAN-ID to the community, e.g. public@7 for VLAN 7 if "public" it your community.

Object details: http://tools.cisco.com/Support/SNMP/do/BrowseOID.do?local=en&translate=Translate&objectInput=1.3.6.1.2.1.17.2.15.1.3#oidContent

snmpbulkwalk -v2c -c public@1 -m BRIDGE-MIB 192.168.1.17 dot1dStpPortState.9

dot1dStpPortState.9 = forwarding

snmpbulkwalk -v2c -c public@2 -m BRIDGE-MIB 192.168.1.17 dot1dStpPortState.9

snmpbulkwalk -v2c -c public@3 -m BRIDGE-MIB 192.168.1.17 dot1dStpPortState.9

snmpbulkwalk -v2c -c public@4 -m BRIDGE-MIB 192.168.1.17 dot1dStpPortState.9

Timeout: No Response from 192.168.1.17

(VLAN 4 does not exist)

That's the best I can offer; but maybe you'll get better answers when you move your posting into the "Network Management" section.

Regards

Rolf

View solution in original post