Helpful
Replies

Question about VRF and NAT

WangSteven02215
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, everyone

I always appreciate for your support.

Now, each independent system will be connected through Catalyst 9300-48S-A, and Windows event log and Syslog will be transmitted to the cyber security operation center.

(In the figure below, the black line means an independent system, and devices in independent system were connected through an L2 switch. Also, there are about 20 independent systems.)

When connecting an independent system, there is a problem of duplicated IP address between several devices.

And there is a requirement to prevent communication between independent systems.

Thus, I think that to use VRF (Virtual Routing and Forwarding) would be solution to prevent communication between independent systems. Also, NAT (Network Address Translation) may be solution to resolve duplicated IP address.

(It's very likely that I'm wrong because i'm not a network expert.) 

There are my questions.

Question 1. If I use Catalyst 9300 like the picture below to use VRF and NAT, can the problem I mentioned be solved? 

(If the problem is not resolved, please recommend new solution. That would be very helpful.)

Question 2. Since there are 20 independent systems, it seems that 20 VRF should be used. If I use 20 VRF in the Catalyst 9300, is there any problems in performance?

Network Diagram.JPG

5 Replies 5

Hello,

looking at your topology diagram, and since you have only two switches, end-to-end VRFs for each customer look like the best option, and the simplest one to configure. I don't really see how NAT can help.

20 VRFs...hard to say what the impact is. You should be ok, since the real limit is the TCAM size, and you only have one or two routes per VRF anyway...

Georg

If you use end to end VRFs what VRF is the syslog server going to be in ? 

Are you assuming it will have a trunk connection and a member of all VRFs ? 

Or am I misunderstanding ? 

Jon

Hello