cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Questioning my Fraternities Network Setup

Justinlong7292
Level 1
Level 1

So I am in a fraternity and I have recently become the new IT Chair of the house, so I am in charge of all the pieces of technology of the house but most importantly the internet. I am studying computer engineering so I know some stuff about computers and a little bit about networking but more home networking and not small business stuff. Anyways, I figured I would ask some experts on networking to get some help on the situation. We recently paid around $7,500 to have our internet re-done because frankly it was a piece of crap before and only worked 50% of the time. Well for that $7,500 we now have an internet that at times can be quick but just as often dips down to as low as 3Mbps download and a whopping .3Mbps upload. For a house with a little over 60 guys in it, this isn't really the speed of internet we should have, especially since we just paid a company $7,500 to redo our internet. I am currently trying to get in contact with the president of our house-corporation because oversaw this whole project and the exchange of money with the company (Dymin Computer Systems is the company just in case anyone knows of them). I want to see if I can get a look at the contract because I do not understand what we paid for. In our networking closet right now we have 1 Cisco DPQ2160 modem, 1 Cisco 1811w Router, 1 Cisco Catalyst 2960 Series PoE-8 24 port switch, 2 Cisco Catalyst 2960 series 48 port switches, and then 96 slots worth of switch board plug-ins 78 of witch go to all the Ethernet ports around the house. I know that part of the $7,500 went to an electrical company who came and strung all the wires from the switch board to the rooms but I don’t know what that cost. As far as what we bought, I believe we only got the 3 new switches and already had the router and the modem. My first question is if the Router is really outdated because after doing some research I beli