cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Redistribution between RIP2 and EIGRP

Filip Knezevic
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, I'm also studying for my CCNA and Im doing some labs in Packet tracer. I have RIP2 network and EIGRP network, all computers in those networks can ping each other, so the routing is good. Now I wanted to connect this two networks so I created router in the middle (CORE router) that should redistribute traffic between networks. I enabled RIp2 and EIGRP on Core router and I followed instructions for redistribution, so I typed this commands:

router eigrp 1

redistribute rip metric 1024 0 255 1 1500

network 10.0.0.0

no auto-summary

!

router rip

redistribute eigrp 1 metric 1

network 10.0.0.0

network 172.30.0.0

network 192.168.13.0

no auto-summary

!

All computers in RIP 2 network can see Core router, all computers in EIGRP network can see Core router, but they cant see each other. 

When I type show ip route it looks like EIGRP network can see RIP2 network, but not vice versa.

So it looks like EIGRP router and Core router learned all routes, but RIP2 router didnt. Obviously I messed something with redistribution.

Please help. Thank you in advance.

In attachment you can see how my lab looks like.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

JDGranger
Level 1
Level 1

router rip
 version 2

Try this.

View solution in original post

13 Replies 13

Mark Malone
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hey

metrics look wrong in eigrp should be redistribute rip 10000 100 255 1 1500 as the default but you can take the metrics of whatever type of interface your using either and I would increase the metric in the rip redistribute as well redistribute eigrp 1 metric 10, see if that helps

Thank you for fast response, Mark. I'll give it a try now :)

Hi, Peter, thank you for joining the discussion.

If metrics are ok, then obviously something else is a problem. Ill try to change delay later and give it a try.