cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

[RESOLVED] Trunk mode for incoming fiber from ISP for Catalyst 3560?

I had come into my work tonight so that I could do a password recovery on a Catalyst 3560G that I inherited when I took this position. I didn't have the login info for it. We wanted to replace it so I really needed to see the config but when I tried to do password recovery the syst LED went solid green and the Catalyst is unresponsive no matter what I try, I've got a terminal window open via the console port, but am getting nothing

Unfortunately this switch is primarily used to convert the incoming fiber from our ISP, then pass it along to a couple other switches. We do have a spare 3650G which I am trying to get online

I don't have a lot of experience with Cisco switches (I'm primarily a database admin) and I'm wondering if anybody can tell me do I need to configure the port as a trunk? This is a single-fiber module going into one of the 4 sfp ports. Also wondering if possibly I need to assign it our external IP address/subnet

Thanks for any assistance. I have tried to research this myself but am working on a pretty tight deadline as people will start coming into work in three hours, eek!

7 Replies 7

marce1000
VIP
VIP

- You should coordinate this question with your ISP as they must/should be able to provide correct settings for your 'local settings'.

M.

-- ' 'Good body every evening' ' this sentence was once spotted on a logo at the entrance of a Weight Watchers Club !

Hello,

who is your ISP, and what country are you in ?