cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Site to site T1 routing issues.. I'm new, helping a school

andy-heckel
Level 1
Level 1
Hi, I'm a complete network newb, but am  helping out a Montessori school with their issues. Hopefully someone can  help. I'm posting here because we have Cisco 1841 routers.

Site A has the main WAN link coming in to a Cisco 1841 router, then  going to a Sonicwall TZ170, then to a 24 port unmanaged switch.
There is also a point to point link to site B. This has another Cisco  1841 router on each end of the link. At site A, it's also plugged into  the 24 port switch, and plugged into another 24 port switch at site B.  There is a DC with DNS and DHCP at site A, and a DHCP server at Site B.  Site A's IP achema is 192.168.1.x, and site B is 192.168.2.x, with  subnet masks of 255.255.255.0. The circuit sides of the point to point  connection is 10.0.0.1 & 2.
The problem they've been having for the last month or so is that the  connection at site B would drop all together, or be very slow and  sporadic. Around the same time, the Sonicwall had to be replaced, I'm  wondering if there's a connection, see below.
Yesterday, I tried downloading a 4mb file from the internet, and  couldn't get the whole thing, even after trying for an hour, it kept  timing out.
Downloading the same file from site A, I was done in 20 seconds.

Here's the wierd part. If I do a tracert from site A to site B's server,  it sometimes works, meaning it'll trace in a couple hops to the  server.When it doesn't, it tries to route out over the internet, with  the first hop being a 162.42 address, which is the service provider.