Views
Helpful
Replies

Some questions on vlans/switching/routing

dougken444
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

Please forgive If I posted this in the wrong forum. I am still learning how to manage my ASA-5506X device. I have a question regarding vlan, and I was wondering if the experts here can guide me in the right direction. 

Background Info: 

Cisco ASA-5506X Device 

Cisco Smart Switch for VOIP

Ubiquiti Unifi Switch 

4 Interface already setup (Verizon, Comcast, DMZ, and Inside) 

Verizon is used for VOIP as well a failover in case Comcast is down, the ASA will direct all traffic to Verizon.

Inside is the internal network 

and DMZ is DMZ

I am trying to create a wireless guest network, but I would like it to be on its separate subnet. People that are on the guest wireless network should not have access to the internal network. I believe I can do this with a vlan.  As far as accessing the DNS and DHCP go, they should be able to access a public DNS, and I have to tweak the ACLs so it can either access my DHCP server or use the ASA as a DHCP server (not sure if that even works). Can someone please tell me how I can achieve this? 

I added a vlan to the inside interface because the cable coming from that interface goes into the switch. The guest wireless network works, but it doesn't use its subnet. It still points to the internal network for an ip address. 

25 Replies 25

Hi Rick,

Thanks for the response. I did monitor the ASA, it doesn't even receive a DHCPRequest which tells me the problem lies somewhere in the switches. 

6 Access points are connected to 6 different ports on the ubiquiti switch. The 6 ports that the access points are connected to are part of a vlan group called corp + Guest which has the corp vlan and guest vlan 30.