cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Stackwise vs Solo Switches - 3850

kaetwo1
Level 1
Level 1

This is my first time posting and I'm fairly new to the Cisco world, so I apologize if this is a simple question.

I'm pretty familiar with the pros and cons of stacking, but I had a question that I could not find an answer too online.

I have (6) 3850 switches with 4x 1gig modules, all in the same IDF.  Each one has a pair of 1 gig port-channeled connections back to my Nexus 5K cores.  I was thinking about making these (6) 3850s a stack and port-channeling gig1/1/1 and 6/1/1 back to the cores (which are running VTP).

My question is this;

Would I have better throughput keeping these 6 switches independent (6 - 1gig port-channeled links) vs stacking the 6 switches (2 - 1gig port-channeled links)?  It would seem like I would be over-provisioned.

I know it would be better to get (2) 2x10gig/2x1gig modules and run 10gig back to the cores, but I'm just curious what everyone's thoughts are.

Thanks for all the help.

Brett Thorne

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

luis_cordova
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @kaetwo1 

You currently have 6 switch traffic traveling through 6 different channels. If you do the stack, then you will have the 6 switch traffic traveling through 1 channel. In addition, each switch currently switches its own traffic, but to stack, the master switch will manage the switching of the 6 switches.

I think that if you have no administration problems or shortage of ports on your core switch, it is better to continue with your current topology.

Regards

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

luis_cordova
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @kaetwo1 

You currently have 6 switch traffic traveling through 6 different channels. If you do the stack, then you will have the 6 switch traffic traveling through 1 channel. In addition, each switch currently switches its own traffic, but to stack, the master switch will manage the switching of the 6 switches.