cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Stay away from VTP?

Sam Sanders
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to VLANs and trunks. I had a conversation with an "expert" who told me that "no one uses VTP" and that if a switch gets replaced, that "it could take the whole network down". That seems absurd to me. Seems like if I had to replace a switch - even if it was the primary VTP server then I can promote the secondary server to the primary.  We have a total of 12 switches. I was going to set up 2 VLANs and trunk ports for ESXi hosts in a VSA cluster.  So I am trying to decide whether or not to use VTP.  Am I better off staying away from VTP?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

glen.grant
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

If you know the dangers of vtp and you  have "control" over who is plugging things into the network then there is nothing wrong with it.  If you have a large network and you need to have the same vlans across  many different switches or you make many vlan changes on the switches it can be handy. We had a setup with 80 vlans that fed probably 60-80 client switches and we never had any issue .  Also as the network has been in awhile and there have been a number of changes then it becomes less likely that someone is going to stick a switch  in if your revision number is like 200 .   If you have a small network and you don't make many changes then you don't really need  it and transparent is safer.

View solution in original post

15 Replies 15

Mike Schultz
Level 1
Level 1

A lot of networks still use VTP. Sure it's scary if you don't know what you're doing. But as long as you always check to make sure the VTP revision # isn't greater than the one you are replacing, you're good. But that can be said for anything on a network. Experts should know better than not to check to make sure a device isn't incorrectly configured.