Views
Helpful
Replies

switch mac address

tahir1234
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys,

Ok , I am studying little bit of switching technology for my day to day job requirement. May be following are very basic questions for you guys but really difficult to understand for me.

• How one can fine the MAC address of a cisco switch. For example, when I run "sh ver" I get the MAC address. & when I run "sh mac addre-table"

I also get the MAC address. So what MAC address is announced in BPDU's to decide the root of the network ?

• How to fine the port priority of a cisco switch ?

Thanks

Tahir.

20 Replies 20

Dear Mousti,

Greetings,

I would like to point you that it really depends on the switch model itself but not because it's by luck or just different algorithms are working on the different IOSs for no reason as you think, the idea behind it, is the ability and capability of the model itself, for example, if your model is supporting multiple IPs to a single mac address, so no need that the switch changes the mac! isn't it.

One more example, if your switch supports per vlan mac address table, so no need to change the mac as well, as each mac address table will work separately without having an impact on the other ones! but if the switch is not supporting any of these functions, so the mac add of the SVIs will be different! 

I see it making sense! 

I wish my reply is helpful enough or added any new info. for your knowledge so that I can get your rating support! 

Thanks in advance! 

Bst Rgds,

Andrew Khalil

Hey Guys..thanks for your input(s). I was not having a question, I was just expanding the answers to the original question/post. 

Regards,

Abdul 

Hi all,