cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Unable to get a connection from 2610XM to PC.

chimpracer
Level 1
Level 1

Hopefully I can trim this down and make it easier to understand what my issue is.

I am studying for my CCNA. I have both Lammles and Odom's books.

I put together my own equipment (from eBay).

I have :

3x 2610XM

2x 2950 EI

Before configuring everything at once, I decided to just attempt a single router.

So, I boot up one router, and connect to it via console cable.

Like I said, I am still learning so I am just practicing a little bit.

I get to a lab that is upgrading my IOS on the router which requires connecting to a TFTP server.

I install a TFTP server on my laptop, do the whole setup etc.

In my console, I do Copy tftp flash and follow the procedure perfectly except....the router can't communicate with my laptop via ethernet!

I spent a few hours working on this.

I enabled the fa0/0, and assigned it the following:

Subnet 255.255.255.0

no shutdown

I still get nothing. (I am unable to ping either way, from PC -> Router OR Router -> PC)

I check my network settings on my laptop, and it shows that it IS indeed connected! but to 169.254.53.251 with a subnet mask of 255.255.0.0.

At this point im confused because its autoconfiguring that, but from where? Is that the router or my ethernet card autoconfiguring that?

So, I manually assign an IP address to the LAN, 10.10.10.2   255.255.0.0.

I then re-assign my routers ip to 10.10.10.1 255.255.0.0.

Now, I am able to ping PC ->> Router but cannot ping from Router ->> PC.

Honestly, I'm a bit at a loss, because the study books dont discuss how to set things up for the first time even though for a CCNA you are obviously new to the technology. I contacted Cisco, however they are unable to help me, so I'm praying that someone is able to assist me to get a connection so I can continue my studies!

Thanks in advance,

Christopher Boyd

3 Replies 3