Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Untagged traffic on native vlan

Hello, it's my first time posting here and I will very much appreciate your kind response guys. I was just wondering how does a switch handle untagged traffic? If an untagged tragfic from a vlan passed through a trunk going to another switch, will the receiving switch forward the untagged traffic to all the ports no matter what vlan they belong to since the traffic has no vlan mark on it? Why or why not? Thanks in advanced. :-)

-dar

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi

If you are using a trunk between 2 switches, the native vlan is the one considered as untagged traffic, the rest of the frames belongs to specific vlans so these frames are tagged to include the vlan information and in this way they are forwarded to their destinations.

By default the vlan 1 is used for native vlan, but for security reasons it should be turned off and you could create a specific vlan for that role, note the native vlan should not be used for other role than native vlan.

Hope it is useful.

:-)

>> Marcar como útil o contestado, si la respuesta resolvió la duda, esto ayuda a futuras consultas de otros miembros de la comunidad. <<

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

Hi

If you are using a trunk between 2 switches, the native vlan is the one considered as untagged traffic, the rest of the frames belongs to specific vlans so these frames are tagged to include the vlan information and in this way they are forwarded to their destinations.

By default the vlan 1 is used for native vlan, but for security reasons it should be turned off and you could create a specific vlan for that role, note the native vlan should not be used for other role than native vlan.

Hope it is useful.

>> Marcar como útil o contestado, si la respuesta resolvió la duda, esto ayuda a futuras consultas de otros miembros de la comunidad. <<