Views
Helpful
Replies

Upgrading 6807 VSS single SUP

waqas gondal
Level 1
Level 1

Hello!

I have 3 pairs of 6807 VSS switches. Each stack is single supervisor VS-SUP2T-10G.

Current version is 

(s2t54-ADVIPSERVICESK9-M), Version 15.1(2)SY6

ROM: System Bootstrap, Version 12.2(50r)SYS2

Recommended version is

s2t54-advipservicesk9-mz.SPA.155-1.SY6.bin

It seems like I cannot do ISSU with this upgrade. Is there another way I can do this without a full disruption to our Core network?

If I have to take it out all at once how long will the upgrade take?

Thanks,

Waqas

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

@waqas gondal wrote:

Could we do FSU to 15.4(1)SY safely?

I never use FSU/eFSU or ISSU because it not a one-size-fits-all solution.  To some it may work but I have had some bad experience that I just result to going to the old method which has worked 10 out 10.

@waqas gondal wrote:

We will likely do a refresh to SDA in 2 years

If you want to do FSU/eFSU or ISSU make sure the TAC engineer is on the phone when you are doing it.  It will also help if the Cisco AM/SE is involved in the FSU/eFSU or ISSU "cc-ed" into the email trail.  

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Personally, there are many other ways you can choose for the upgrade, since VSS bit odd results i see especially 2 different versions of IOS when you upgrade per chassis 

12.2X to 15.X.

here is good discussion,

https://community.cisco.com/t5/switching/6807-vss-issu-upgrade-to-15-5-1-sy5/m-p/4172653

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Hi, we are on version Version 15.1(2)SY6 currently, considering version Version 15.5(1)SY6

Also that discussion is for a dual SUP chassis, which I don't have.

apologies corrected my statement - look at the approach and discussion had in the thread and consider our experience on the filed results.