cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Upgrading a business network

zap_strap
Level 1
Level 1

I should frame this by saying although I'm not an IT professional I am familiar with most networking concepts, and adminster a small network with a linux server and multiple PCs running both windows and linux, wired and wireless.

I have been tasked with modernizing an older network in a company with multiple offices.  Offices are spread out:  West coast, East coast, and Europe. Wireless is not a requirement, and there are roughly 20 users at each location.

The desire is to establish VPN(s) between all three, as well as offer VOIP and video conferencing if possible.  All three offices have old-school PBXs for their phone systems, and I'm wondering if there is a way to implement the VPNs as well as cover voice/video communcations between the three offices.

There is also a desire to be able to have each office offer a way to connect remotely via VPN, or from one office to another, and have proxy-web access through the office servers.

Cisco recommended using an RV220W router at each location and leaving the wifi turned off.  I can see how this might work, but I'm a little lost as to how to handle voice and video communications.

Is there a solution that captures these requirements?

3 Replies 3

zoltanszasz
Level 1
Level 1

HIt me up at office@uns.ro with a list of equip. what you have now at each office and i look over what can be done to have VOIP and video over internet. I would also need Internet connection speed at each location.

Regards,

Zoly

Tod Larson
Level 3
Level 3

In my humble opinion you are jumping into a realm where a non-IT guy simply can't do it all. You'll have wan issues, security issues, phone dial plan issues, etc that all require certain expertise.

That said, what you are asking for is very normal.