Views
Helpful
Replies

VLAN for Management Traffic

eddie.sardinha
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Everyone,

I'm still learning cisco and networks in general but I need to separate management traffic from the regular network.  The switch is a cisco catalyst 5406-E.  My question is do I need to create a new subnet for the VLAN and how would I do that? The commands I have to create a VLAN and add the switch ports are

Switch(config)# vlan 15

switch(config-vlan)# name Management

switch(config)# interface GigabitEthernet2/6

switch(config-if)# switchport access vlan 15

Now this creates vlan 15 and adds the GE 2/6 interface to vlan 15.  How do I add it to a new subnet?  Am I going in the right direction?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

I agree with Jon that knowing more about the environment would be nice. But the original post asks a simple question and I believe that it is possible to answer it without additional information. To add a subnet you need to configure the layer 3 SVI and assign an IP address. It might look something like this

interface vlan 15

ip address 172.16.15.1 255.255.255.0

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Do you mean a 4506-E switch ?

If so it's not clear what the switch is connected to.

When you create a management vlan it is usually for a number of switches. The vlan does have an IP subnet and it needs to be routed on L3 switch(es).

So usually you would have -

a) a pair of L3 switches or stacked L3 switches with the management vlan and a L3 vlan interface (SVI) for that vlan. The L3 switches will also have SVIs for the user vlans.