cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

vPC and peer link does it forward traffic or only state

romanroma
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to Nexus and vPC peer links concept, and due to the latter I am reading the following:

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/switches/nexus-5000-series-switches/design_guide_c07-625857.html#_Toc271759439

However, what I do not understand if the link (east-west) forwards traffic or just keep alive, and link state. I have read the link numerous times, but if they are answering my question - i am just not getting it.

So, does the East-West peer link forward layer 2 traffic or is it just management traffic? Would traffic ever take this path to forward frames or packets over if routing?

Thank you

RR

13 Replies 13

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi,

The east-west traffic using the vPC peer link is just layer-2 data traffic (not management) with all vlans included. For management, all Cisco Nexus devices come with an out-of-band management port that can be used to manage the device. It can also be used for vPC peer-keep-alive.

figure-3 in this link:

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/switches/nexus-5000-series-switches/configuration_guide_c07-543563.html

HTH

@Reza Sharifi,

When you say 'layer 2' does that mean STP will making blocking or change the path that frames can take? I thinking I am confusing myself, because the figures show traffic going up and down the leaf/spine but not the cross-link between the two switches. So is there ever a case that traffic user/production traffic will take the peer link that is connected between the two switches?

Thank you

Sergiu.Daniluk
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @romanroma 

vPC peer-link will transfer two type of traffics:

• vPC control-plane traffic using Cisco Fabric Services over Ethernet (CFSoE). This includs:
    • Configuration validation and comparison (consistency check)
    • Synchronization of MAC addresses for vPC member ports