Views
Helpful
Replies

VSS, Cisco StackWise and Cisco StackWise Virtual

Julian Ortiz
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys,

I am pretty new in Cisco technology, and about this subjet I have seen many posts and sites, so it is quite confusing. Putting all together I can conclude the following:

1. VSS: Technology for stacking a pair of switches, which uses conventional 1/10G ports. Used in switches such as Catalyst 6500 and 4500.
  2. Cisco StackWise: Technology for stacking up to nine switches using propietary stacking modules and cables, therefore it is used within a closet. Used in switches such as 3750.
  3. Cisco StackWise Virtual: Very similar to VSS, is like an evolution. Because it also uses conventional 1/10G ports, it can use fiber links and achieve long distances, such as building a switch stack with a pair of chassis geographically distributed. It is also limited to two switches. Used in switches such as Catalyst 9000.

Am I correct? Missing anything?

Regards,

Julián

11 Replies 11

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

You are correct in terms of understanding.

But point 3, StackWise virtual-only support Cat 9400 / 9500 / 9600 ( not all Cat 9000 series) also model 3850 (refer below guide)

https://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/products/collateral/switches/catalyst-9000/nb-06-cat-9k-stack-wp-cte-en.pdf

https://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/products/collateral/switches/catalyst-3850-series-switches/q-and-a-c67-738577.pdf

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Hi BB,

Thanks for the clarification. Few more things please:

• Is there any matrix which shows the relation of Cisco Catalyst family switches and their stacking technology supported?
  • So I understand there is no virtual stacking technology such VSS or StackWise Virtual, but which supports more than two switches?