cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Where is arp table and MAC table and Vlan info located ?

fsblumkv54
Level 1
Level 1

Where is arp table and MAC table and vlan info located ?

regards .

8 Replies 8

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Respectively, In CPU memory, and in TCAM memory.

Are you a student? This kind of info is covered in books.

thank you for reply .yes , im a student . but I couldnt find the information .

arp table in CPU memory ? is this deleted if the power down ?

also how about vlan infos ?

Hello Jackson,

The "CPU memory" shall be understood simply as the RAM into which the CPU has ordinary access just like in normal computers. ARP cache is indeed stored in CPU memory. MAC address table is stored in specialized hardware sometimes called a CAM, Content Addressable Memory, that provides very fast lookups. Paolo mentioned a TCAM which stands for Ternary CAM. This type of memory can provide exact-match or similar-match lookups (in similar-match lookups, you can define which bits can be ignored when performing lookups). While TCAM can be used to stored MAC addresses, it is more typically used to store IP address prefixes to facilitate routing and ACL operation.

Both CPU memory and CAM/TCAM contents are lost if the power is disconnected.

VLAN information is a more complex issue. A VLAN is defined by its name, number, state (active / locally shutdown / VTP suspended), type (primary, secondary isolated, secondary community, RSPAN), etc. - all these information are stored in the CPU memory and also in the vlan.dat file in the FLASH that is loaded during switch bootup. However, their working copy is stored in the CPU memory. In addition, selected data about these VLANs are downloaded to the ASICs of the switch that perform actual switching.

Best regards,

Peter

Paolo, this kind of answer doesn't help anyone and is the reason people hate reaching out to the NOC.