cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Why the last port of two catalyst 3560X are connected together?

gramesh12
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am a newbie here. We have two catalyst 3560X 24T-S switches connected on two separate LANs (both the networks are redundant to each other).

The last port of the switches are connected together? Please tell me what for it is done?

Regards

4 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

I think this is what you are looking for:

Configuring 802.1Q Trunking Between a Catalyst 3550/3560/3750 and Catalyst Switches That Run Cisco IOS Software

Please don't forget to rate our useful posts.  Thanks.

Configuring InterVLAN Routing and ISL/802.1Q Trunking on a Catalyst 2900XL/3500XL/2950 Switch Using an External Router

View solution in original post

Hi Gunda,

The command to check the interface configuration is "show run int ".

Kind Regards,
Ivan

**Please grade this post if you find it useful.

Kind Regards,
Ivan

Hi Gunda,

Trunks carry the traffic of multiple VLANs over a single link and allow you to extend VLANs across an entire network.

For example, if you have 2 different connections from switches to WAN or other LANs, in case WAN connection on switch A fails, the reachability in vlan to WAN will be available through WAN connection on switch B. Traffic from switch A will be passing to switch B via trunk link.

The link shared by leolaohoo is quite good for understanding how a trunk works, I suggest to check it if you have configuration/

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switches/lan/catalyst6500/ios/12.1E/native/configuration/guide/layer2.html#wp1020409

Also see this book:

http://www.ciscopress.com/articles/article.asp?p=29803&seqNum=3

Kind Regards,
Ivan

Kind Regards,
Ivan

HI Ramesh,

My bad, sorry for mistake  - I was looking at another post while typing and messed up the names :$