cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

XModem / IOS issues

GeckoPunk
Level 1
Level 1

I've been studying for the CCNA for about 3 months now, on and off. I was provided a Cisco 3600 Series Multiplatform router from my manager so I could get some hands-on experience.

I thought I'd upgrade the 11.1 IOS and didn't think twice about backing up the existing IOS on a TFTP server, or any other location for that matter.

So I erased the flash and am currently stuck in rommon>.

I got an "updaded" c3660-is-mz.122-46a.bin IOS from my manager, but am having difficulties transferring it to the router. The IOS is located on my C:\.

Please note that this router does not permit copy tftp flash... According to Cisco's documentation only XMODEM will work on the system.

Here's the main issue:

rommon 1 > xmodem -c c3660-is-mz.122-46a.bin
Do not start the sending program yet...
device does not contain a valid magic number
dir: cannot open device "flash:"

WARNING: All existing data in flash will be lost!
Invoke this application only for disaster recovery.
Do you wish to continue? y/n  [n]:  y
Ready to receive file c3660-is-mz.122-46a.bin ...
CCCCCCCCCC
Timeout waiting for data - aborting download...

I am using Tera Term as a terminal emulator. After it says "Ready to receive..." I send the file and it looks like it completes the process. However, after the file is completely sent, about 1 minute afterwards a few CCCC's later, you can see the error "Timeout waiting for data - aborting download".

I have the router and Tera Term both set up with the following:

Port: Com 4

Baud Rate: 115200 (9600 would take too long)

Data: 8-bit

Parity: None

Stop: 1 bit

Flow Control: Hardware

When I run meminfo in rommon> the router shows that there is 32MB Flash and 32MB DRAM

The new IOS I'm trying to install is 11.6 MB (12,243,744 bytes)

Can someone please tell me why I can't upload this IOS on the router?

1 Reply 1

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame