cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ISDN GW 3241 ; admin config guide

gavin han
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm new to ISDN Gateway. I was trying to find admin and config guide but no luck. Could you please provide link to admin, config guide and best practices to configure ISDn gateway?

Thanks in advance.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Tomonori Taniguchi
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Two important configuration on ISDN Gateway as additional information for your reference (addition to administrator guide).

1) Service Prefix configuration on ISDN Gateway

Make sure this service prefix number doesn’t overlap with any other Endpoint/MCU alias.

You may utilize VCS for SIP/H323 Interworking as well.

• ISDN Gateway register to VCS with “Dial plan prefix” (Note, each dial rules doesn’t register to VCS individually).

2) Dial plan configuration

The inbound dial plan and outbound dial plan are separate configuration.

Here is some sample dial plan configuration per call scenario.

Example 1: Using VCS to dial (IP to ISDN dial rules )

• Called number matches: 2511(D+)
  • Call this number: $1
  • Explanation: $1 refers to the first bracketed group in the number match field.
    This is D+, which means one or more of any digit.
    By putting the “2511” first we exclude it from the D+ group, which means we are left with a valid PSTN number to dial. So the user could dial 251101234567 from their phone and the ISDN Gateway would strip the 2511 and dial 01234567 over the PSTN.

Example 2: Auto Attendant (IP to ISDN dial rules )

• Called number matches: 2510
  • Action: “Enter the auto attendant”

DTMF keys

• Digits 0 to 9
  • # (hash), to indicate that you have completed the number and to start dialing

FECC control

• If FECC is enabled on your endpoint, use the Left arrow to delete the last character and the Right to start dialing.

Example 3: Using VCS to dial (ISDN to IP dial rules)

• Called number matches: 623065(D+)
  • Call this number: 906580$1