Views
Helpful
Replies

Need a video conferencing solution

Raghavendra Rai
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I am new to VC, can anyone suggest me a solution for the below requirement.

I have a customer, who has a branch with 50 users, his network infrastructure has mixed vendor devices. Like fortigate firewall some other brand switch and all.

Now he need a Video and audio conferencing solution in one of his conference room, he is interested in Cisco solution (ofcource cost effective).

Is there any Cisco solution that I can think of in this case? his requirement is more of room conferencing, the white board and and the presentator in the conference room should be captured in the camera.

Can you please suggest?

Thanks,

Raghavendra

3 Replies 3

Jonathan Schulenberg
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

You can look at the Tandberg Profile Series for multipurpose rooms with VCS for call control and firewall traversal. Cisco is at the very begining stages of folding the Tandberg products into CUCM; however, this is likely a one-two years away from completion. For now, I would sell Tandberg as a self-standing solution and just add a SIP trunk from VCS to CUCM.

I agree with Jonathan on this one (+5 J.). Even if Tandberg wasn't part of Cisco I would recommend looking at their product portfolio. In your case, this is mainly because it sounds like you have a strong requirement for interoperability with different vendor gear. The Tandberg VCS call control is feature rich and can act as a SIP registrar or H.323 Gatekeeper.  The H.323 portion is pretty important for compatibility and interoperability. H.323 is more prevalent in video than is SIP.  Though, you definitely want to have a forward-looking vision that includes both.

The VCS and VCSe are very powerful and you can accomodate all sorts of call scenarios and achieve very good interop.