Helpful
Replies

C Series codecs - not locally caching phonebooks

Luke Sykes
Level 1
Level 1

Hello

I hope you can help.

I have a customer who has both MXP and C Series codecs.

He uses TMS to provide server hosted phonebooks to the endpoints. If TMS becomes unavailable, after about 10 seconds the MXP endpoints locally cache a copy of the phonebooks. This doesnt work for the C Series codecs they have.

Is there a way this can be set up?

Is this also the same with the E Series codecs?

Also, where is it that TMS stores the phonebooks? (I'm relatively new to this so if thats a stupid question thats why)

Many Thanks

Luke

4 Replies 4

Tomonori Taniguchi
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

MXP Endpoint support “local”, “global” and “corporate” phonebook.

C-series and EX-series Endpoint support “local” and “corporate” phonebook.

The “corporate” phonebook is on-line and live phonebook service from TMS (support folder base phonebook).

The “global” phonebook is text base phonebook created on TMS and download to Endpoint.

So if TMS is out of service, C-series and EX-series Endpoint won’t able to access phonebook unless have local phonebook.

Thanks for your response

Is there a way we can we retrieve the global phonebook as text file from the endpoint so we can build up the local xml file for it? I suppose that way we wont have to build a manual pb.xml file manually for each endpoint.

Can you recommend another way of saving the phonebooks for the C series and EX series codecs when TMS is offline?

Hi Luke

Unfortunately EX and C series does not support global (downloaded phonebooks). The only way is to build up the pb.xml and distribute this to the endpoints. But the pb.xml is limited to 100 entries or 99, I cannot remember exact.