Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco Telepresence 3241 ISDN Gateway.

anish.gupta11
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am new to Telepresence.  We have Codian MCU, TMS, VCS-C&E. We are doing a migration and their tech lead is requesting to remove ISDN gateway. My Client wants to get rid of 3241 ISDN gateway and asking to use CUCM.  I am not sure what we should do or what 3241 does in specific and how can we migrate it . Please help

Regards!!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

The 3241 gateway provides a gateway between your IP based endpoints (which will register to CUCM in the new solution) and legacy ISDN video calls.  The 3241 is end-of-sale/end-of-life fairly soon, but is still the best solution for IP to ISDN video calls available.  That said, the client may decide that they no longer need ISDN video calls as it's a legacy capability.

You may be able to use a Cisco router based solution for your video calls, but this would likely be more difficult and not really considered best practice, so I would recommend that you either do away with ISDN video caslls entirely or keep the 3241 gateway in the new solution.

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

The 3241 gateway provides a gateway between your IP based endpoints (which will register to CUCM in the new solution) and legacy ISDN video calls.  The 3241 is end-of-sale/end-of-life fairly soon, but is still the best solution for IP to ISDN video calls available.  That said, the client may decide that they no longer need ISDN video calls as it's a legacy capability.

You may be able to use a Cisco router based solution for your video calls, but this would likely be more difficult and not really considered best practice, so I would recommend that you either do away with ISDN video caslls entirely or keep the 3241 gateway in the new solution.

Hi Nick, Thanks for your reponse. Could you please elaorate more.