Views
Helpful
Replies

MCU vs VCS

hgbtester
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

Im pretty new to the conferencing and I got confused about the following scenario :

I need to make a conference for 13 calls from the head quarter to other 13 branches in full HD , now I need to deploy 5 monitors in the head quarter and 2 monitors in each site.

1. so I could view 5 full HD calls from selected 4 branches as maximum, and a thumbnail view of active presence for the rest 10 calls " as a small thumbnail screen " in the fifth screen .

2. I can view max of 2 full HD in each branch which is the main speaker with someone else .

My view for the equipment would be like following :

1x C90 in the main office DD, PR

13x SX20 in each branch with DD, PR 

1xVCS in the main office 

1x MCU 5320 

Anything else needed ? im pretty confused now .

Regards,

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

The whole point of Telepresence server is to merge calls into one conference - it's essentially a different type of MCU :)

Also note that while the C90 is capable of 12Mbps full HD, that's when the C90 itself is hosting the call via its multisite feature.  It can host 3 or 4 calls at the same time into one conference, but you don't use or need this feature if you have an MCU or TP Server.

If I was you, my build would look something like this:

13 x MX200/MX300 (depending on what size screen you wanted - that's the only real difference between the two)

1 x VCS-Control + 15 non-traversal call licenses

1 x Telepresence Server 7010 + 12 screen licenses

1 x SX80 + whatever screens/monitors you wanted, although an MX700 might be a better choice (dual 55" screens with built in codec)

1 x Telepresence Conductor (free version).

Note that under this scenario, two of your endpoints would have to dial in at 720p, because 1 x screen license = either 1 full HD call or 2 x 720p calls and the 7010 can only host a max of 12 screen licenses.  The next model up can host 48 but is much, much more expensive.