Views
Helpful
Replies

Media resources

thivyak01
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I am new to this field , can any one help me out in giving the detailed explanation on Media resources.Can any one give me the difference between hardware and software resource.

Thanks,

Thivya Kannan.

2 Replies 2

Martin Koch
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Its always a good idea to check if when reading your question again before posting makes you belive its self explaining and contains enough information. 

Here it would be good to know in which context or which website / book you heard/read about it and how you think its important to you / affects you.

I am also not sure how well this question fits to this forum, some more CUCM related one might be better,...

In general, a hardware resource is based on hardware and a software resource on software :-)

Its just a forum or google query away to find:

https://supportforums.cisco.com/document/13129081/basic-hardware-base-ios-media-resources-configuration-and-registration-call

or

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/voice_ip_comm/cucm/srnd/collab11/collab11/media.html

and

http://docwiki.cisco.com/wiki/CUCM_Media_Resources_FAQ

from the SRND Media sectio (SRND is always an interesting source for Cucm related questions):

MTP Resources

The following types of devices are available for use as an MTP:

Software MTP (Cisco IP Voice Media Streaming Application)

A software MTP is a device that is implemented by enabling the Cisco IP Voice Media Streaming Application on a Unified CM server. When the installed application is configured as an MTP application, it registers with a Unified CM node and informs Unified CM of how many MTP resources it supports. A software MTP device supports only G.711 streams or passthrough mode in a codec. The IP Voice Media Streaming Application is a resource that may also be used for several functions, and the design guidance must consider all functions together (see Cisco IP Voice Media Streaming Application).