cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Need help on designing and deploying VC network

smart5
Level 1
Level 1

Hi folks, need some help here as i have no experience in VC deployment and seems like my predecessor has made a mess in the existing environment.

To share the existing setup..

- Currently We have 1 VCS-C and 1 VCS-E deployed in China-Guangzhou, we have the E20 and MXP units deployed over multiple countries (e.g Guangzhou, Hong Kong, Singapore)..

- Guangzhou VC units are registered on the VCS-C

- Singapore, Hong Kong units are registered on VCS-E

- The "fantastic" idea my predecessor came about is to have remote sites dial to each other using Internet rather than MPLS as we have smaller pipe for the MPLS.. But having said that, and with those units registered on VCS-E, i'm not 100% sure if the VideoConf are actually using Internet or MPLS as the units (for e.g in Singapore) have a local LAN IP address which is routable in the MPLS network..

So now i have come into the picture and i'm trying to make things alittle bit better.. but i have some questions in mind, if you guys able to help answer them.

1) Can we run multiple VCS-E in our environment using the same public domain (e.g example.com). Like 1 VCS-E deployed in Guangzhou, and 1 VCS-E deployed in Singapore, will it cause a conflict to external vendors when they are dialing into our company VC units?

2) Since Guangzhou do not have a CUCM, therefore getting a VCS-C to register the VC units is a logical decision, but in Singapore, we have 2 CUCM in our network, and we intend to upgrade it to ver 8.x to allow registering of E20 and MXP units. Having said that, can the CUCM perform similar function as VCS-C to communicate to VCS-E for traversal? (if we are deploying another VCS-E in Singapore)

3) If the answer to above question 2 is NO.