Views
Helpful
Replies

Newbie Here! Setup VCS 8.1 and EX60 to register properly

kmartins5
Level 1
Level 1

Experts,

I have little knowledge of a VCS server or Tandberg EX60. I've been tasked with setting both up. While I have the server setup, I have been unable to get my first Tandberg EX60 to register with it. I have reviewed the loads of documentation available and cannot seem to nail this.

I have the VCS setup to treat all users as authenticated. I then go into the new (out of the box) EX60, use the provisioning startup wizard, choose Cisco VCS, and define the External Manager as my VCS 8.1 Ip address. I cannot get this to work. I have also tried setting up (per documentation), a local authentication database on the VCS, creating a username/password and signing into the EX60 with that. Still not working.

This is clearly my lack of knowledge with the systems involved. Hoping someone can give me clear instructions to get these two units working.

Thank you!s

2 Replies 2

Patrick Sparkman
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Do you have TMS, and TMSPE setup properly to use provisioning with your VCS?  The provisioning setup wizard on the EX60 using VCS won't work unless it can obtain the configurations it needs from TMS.  A very short/rough description of the provisioning process: the EX60 contacts the VCS, the VCS asks for authentication, when accepted, the VCS provisions/sends the configuration data as configured within TMSPE to the EX60.

If you don't have TMS/TMSPE, then you'll want to go into the EX60's advanced configuration yourself and configure the SIP settings to register to the VCS with the username/password you created.

Hello, 

Sometimes is kind of difficult to understand the registration process of the endpoint into the VCS.

Here are some steps to register the endpoint in H323 or SIP: 

H323

1. Tap the user name in the upper left corner and tap Settings 

> Administrator > H323. 
2. Enter the H323 Number and H323 Id in their respective 
input fields.