Views
Helpful
Replies

CER - Switch Changes That Affect CER

RL5901
Level 1
Level 1

CER System Version: 11.5.4.50000-6

Single appliance implementation (no HA). 

Switch model 3850

This is my first year working with Cisco Emergency Responder (10 months, so far). I have found that it can be rather finicky and is high maintenance. Does anyone know of a document that lists what changes to a switch will cause CER to lose the ERL assigned to the switch and/or ports? I have found through experience that the following changes to a switch may drop the ERL association in CER:

* IOS upgrade/change - always disassociates the ERL, sometimes drops the communication between the switch and CER (switch disappears under "Switch Port Details")

* adding a switch to a switch stack - either disassociate the ERL or drops the communication between the switch and CER altogether (disappears under "Switch Port Details")

* changing the hostname of a switch - sometimes drops the communication between the switch and CER altogether (disappears under "Switch Port Details")

The switches in our environment are using a configuration template that standardizes the config. We standardized our IOS on our switches, as well. 

I have not found any correlation between the switch IOS version and any of the above situations, and with SNMP the IOS should not matter. 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

It's possible that we're hitting this Bug CSCvo82994. 

Bug Id: CSCvo82994
Title: CER is not updating switch information, if we change the same IP/Hostname to other model switch
Severity: 6 Enhancement
Description: Symptom:
Unable to discover new switch hardware using the same IP and hostname as the original hardware unless the original entry is deleted first. Error "CoreSortSeedDevices isSuccefullyAddedInD This Device is earlier discovered as C3750"

Conditions: