cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

UC Health Checklist

SeanCochran91
Level 1
Level 1

Does anyone use a Checklist to monitor Health of UC and Collaboration systems? I am looking for a jumpstart to develop a checklist procedure outside of simply monitoring RTMT. I am hoping for some daily, weekly and monthly items such as "Verify dbreplication weekly" or similar types of things. Let me know what you guys do. I am fairly new to being a UC engineer and i am the only one for a financial institution with about 80 sites 2000 phones 35 video endpoints and 1600 users. Thanks.

4 Replies 4

jason-mcgee
Level 3
Level 3

SeanCochran,

I don't use a checklist, but I do set up alerts via RTMT. Under alert central there are 4 tabs, System, Voice/Video, IM & Presence, and Custom. If you right click on each alert in those tabs you can set alert properties and have the system send you an e mail for each one, you can also configure how often and the priority of those alerts. I don't use all of them, but I do use the ones that are critical. That covers nearly everything you need. RTMT does not need to be running for these alerts to be sent to your e mail and I have found them to be better than any checklist that I have come up with in the past. The custom tab and the alerts on those custom alarms I set up have been extremely effective as well, but the canned items monitored are pretty inclusive. As something arises, as it usually does, I add that as a new alert. 

If you were already aware of this particular feature, my apologies.

Jason

Anthony Holloway
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee
How far did you make it on this task? Anything you can share with the community?

Andrew Skelly
Level 7
Level 7