cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Announcements
Walkthrough Wednesdays
439
Views
10
Helpful
4
Replies
Scott Jones
Beginner

UCxn 8.6.2 - Aging/Expiration and UM interaction?

Hi everyone--looking for some clarification on the interactions of message aging/expiration and unified messaging (Exchange 2010) integration.  What my company wants to accomplish is that when a message reaches X days old, it expires and is deleted from UCxn, but ALSO deleted from the user's Exchange mailbox...i can't find any clear documentation on if this is possible or not.  Hoping someone here can let me know either way so that i can help our executive team make a more informed decision going forward.

Thanks all.

SJ

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

To add to what Chris said:

Where Deleted Messages Go

By default, when a user deletes a voice message in Connection, the  message is sent to the Connection deleted items folder and synchronized  with the Outlook Deleted Items folder. When the message is deleted from  the Connection deleted items folder (the user can do this manually, or  you can configure message aging to do it automatically), it is also  deleted from the Outlook Deleted Items folder.

If you are adding the single-inbox feature to an existing system, and if  you have configured Connection to permanently delete messages without  saving them in the deleted items folder, messages that users delete by  using the Web Inbox or by using the Connection phone interface are still  permanently deleted. However, messages that users delete by using  Outlook are only moved to the Deleted Items folder in Outlook, not  permanently deleted. When Connection synchronizes with Exchange, the  message is moved to the Connection deleted items folder; it is not  permanently deleted. We recommend that you do one or both of the  following:

Configure message aging to permanently delete messages in the Connection deleted items folder.

Configure message quotas, so that Connection prompts users to delete messages when their mailboxes approach a specified size.

When a user deletes a voice message from any Outlook folder, including  the Outlook Inbox folder, the Deleted Items folder, or any subfolder,  the message is moved to the deleted items folder in Connection. No  operation in Outlook will cause a message to be permanently deleted in  Connection.

Hailey

Please rate helpful posts!

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Chris Deren
Hall of Fame Master

When message is deleted in UCON it is also deleted from Exchange as the synchronization process does that.

Chris

To add to what Chris said:

Where Deleted Messages Go

By default, when a user deletes a voice message in Connection, the  message is sent to the Connection deleted items folder and synchronized  with the Outlook Deleted Items folder. When the message is deleted from  the Connection deleted items folder (the user can do this manually, or  you can configure message aging to do it automatically), it is also  deleted from the Outlook Deleted Items folder.

If you are adding the single-inbox feature to an existing system, and if  you have configured Connection to permanently delete messages without  saving them in the deleted items folder, messages that users delete by  using the Web Inbox or by using the Connection phone interface are still  permanently deleted. However, messages that users delete by using  Outlook are only moved to the Deleted Items folder in Outlook, not  permanently deleted. When Connection synchronizes with Exchange, the  message is moved to the Connection deleted items folder; it is not  permanently deleted. We recommend that you do one or both of the  following:

Configure message aging to permanently delete messages in the Connection deleted items folder.

Configure message quotas, so that Connection prompts users to delete messages when their mailboxes approach a specified size.

When a user deletes a voice message from any Outlook folder, including  the Outlook Inbox folder, the Deleted Items folder, or any subfolder,  the message is moved to the deleted items folder in Connection. No  operation in Outlook will cause a message to be permanently deleted in  Connection.

Hailey

Please rate helpful posts!

View solution in original post

thank you both for the quick repsonse.  that's what i wanted to find out.  Wasn't sure how the sync process would handle it.  the message aging angle is what i think we're going for.

thanks again guys.

SJ

Quick update in case someone else stumbles across this post.  What we will eventually do is set the time before messages go from inbox to saved to 30 days; from saved to deleted to 1 day (we don't want saved messages, but don't have an option in UCxn), and then 15 days in deleted items.

thanks again for the clarification Hailey.

Content for Community-Ad

Spotlight Awards 2021

This widget could not be displayed.