Views
Helpful
Replies

ISCSI traffic, couple of questions

gregprofitt
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

First i'm new to UCS so excuse my lack of knowledge.  I had some questions about ISCSI and NFS traffic over 10GB ethernet.

We are planning on having 5548's and two 6248's interconnects, when does it make sense to use the 5548's for
our ISCSI SAN's versus using Appliance ports on the interconnects?  It makes more sense to me to connect
them to the 5548's.

Should this traffic but on a seperate port channel or just on the port channel with the rest of the traffic on a
isolated VLAN.

Does it make sense to pin VNICS to interconnect ports or is that unneccessary with all the bandwidth?

Thanks,

Greg

3 Replies 3

Robert Burns
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Greetings Greg,

Welcome to the support community & UCS!

In regards to your questions, unless the iSCSI SANs have dedicated ports just for UCS, or is solely to provide storage for UCS, then I wouldn't do direct attach.  It's a far simpler design if you connect via your 5548's especially if you're going to server traffic to servers outside of the UCS system also. 

Unless you have extremely high iSCSI utilization, I probably wouldn't suggest you'd need a separate uplink Pin Group either.  Pin Groups can be used here, but they do add complexity and having a multi-10G uplink port channel you'll likely never push it to capacity anyway.  A single uplink port channel should be adequate and keep it simple at the same time.

Along with this allow the system to round robin your vnics to uplinks.  If you're not using Pin Group Uplinks, then you don't need to do vNIC pinning.  Again, more complexity and in your case unless you're versed on troubleshooting and supporting it, I would stick to the straightforward design.

What I would suggest is the following:

- Put all your iSCSI traffic on a separate L2 VLAN. 

- Try to locate your target iSCSI SAN on this same VLAN (avoid routing and packet fragmentation)