cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Nexus 1000v -beginner question-Do I need vcenter to test it?

cristip
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all

I am trying to familiarize myself with Nexus 1000v. I am also new to vSphere and to the entire VMware infrastructure. Before to begin this "journey" the only product I had used so far was vmware workstation.

Here is what I would like to achieve: I currently run GNS3  (Internetwork Expert lab with real switches) on a Linux machine

(Ubuntu x64), Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 processor with 4G of RAM. The plan is to test ESXi 5 hypervisor (free) and to install a couple of servers there and to have them connected to the GNS3 lab via a Nexus 1000v switch.

The idea is to have ESXi 5 running within VMWare workstation 8 because I do not want to reinstall Linux and GNS3

So far I have managed to do the following:

-VMware Workstation up and running

-ESXi 5.0 successfuly installed although it is not running x64 nested machines only x32

-vSphere client installed on my Winx64 machine and able to access ESXi 5.0

-Nexus 1000v VSM installed

Now I suppose the next step will be to install VEMs and a coupleof other small componentes (at least one plugin)

My question:

Do I need vCenter in order to go farther? I tried to install that on my Windows machine but the installation programs exits saying that my machine does not satisfy the requirements.

My machine: Windows Vista x64, 6G RAM, processor Intel Core 2 Quad 8200 -does not support VT-x- I don't think it it needed.

Is there anyway to circumvent this issue? Is there any way to install VEMs and further to configure 1000v without having vCenter?

thanks a lot

Cristian

3 Replies 3

abbharga
Level 4
Level 4

Hi Cristian,

Yes you need the VC to use N1k, the VSM connects to the VC and the VEMs get their initial configuration from the VC plus we can only add the VEM to the N1K VSM via the operation on the VC.