Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone

Im new to the nexus 1000v and i had  a question

Lets say you have 6 nics and 3 different uplink profiles

LAN   - vmnic0 +1

MGT - vmnic 2+3

Vmotion - vmnic 4+5

I understand how to ensure vmotion will use nic 4+5 etc - create vmotion vmkernal and migrate it to that uplink profile

But if the  switch is setup and working for a while and i create a new portgroup for vms in vlan 50 for example.

How can i make sure that that portgroup will use vmnic0 and 1 and not the other nics ???

Its easy for mgt etc as you are migrating a vmkernel but how does it work for the vm portgroups ?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Michael,

system vlans need to be defined on both ethernet & vethernet port-profiles.  A better example would be the management vlan.  If the system vlan is not included on the vethernet port-profile, when the ESX host boots, the vmk interface will be DOWN and therefore not be able to connect to vCenter.

port-profile type vethernet mgmt

vmware port-group

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 20

no shut

state enable

!

port-profile type ethernet mgmt-uplink  <-----put vmics2+3

vmware port-group

switchport mode trunk

switchport trunk allowed vlan 20

channel-group auto mode on mac-pinning

no shut

state enable

system vlan 20

Matthew

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

mwronkow
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Michael,

Each uplink port-profile needs to trunk a unique set of vlans.  You should not have the same vlan in multiple port-profiles (the VSM will throw a warning message if this rule is violated).

Here is a stub config.  You'll notice the vlans in the ethernet port-profiles do not overlap. Traffic on vlan 50 will only egress/ingress the VEM through vmnics on VMs-uplink port-profile.  For information on selecting the proper channel-group command, please see my port-channeling best practices document.

port-profile type vethernet vmotion

vmware port-group