Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco UCS Rack server - standalone

CiscoRunner
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Folks,

This is a complete newbie question so apologies before I even start :)

I am looking for some help in ordering a standalone Cisco UCS server. The use of the server will be for building a home lab (Unified Communications). My problem is I have not got the first clue about server architecture or components and particularly the software and I do not want to order something that does not work right out of the box.

Basically for the lab I will need a box with minimum of 64Gb memory and 8 cores, and a 1Tb hard drive. In terms of virtual machines, to build the entire CCIE Collab environement I think I will need around 14 VM's in total. Now my problem with the servers is the software side. How do I order ESXi to install on the UCS? Do I need licensing or something for this? Can the entire box and software (ESXi) be ordered as one or is it treated seperately?

As you can see I really know nothing about UCS servers and the software :)

Thanks!

5 Replies 5

Keny Perez
Level 8
Level 8

I am not an expert on collaboration but I have seen customers using these two:

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/unified-communications/business-edition-6000/qa_c67-703226.html

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/unified-communications/business-edition-7000/index.html

I am not sure how much you are willing to invest on your home lab though.

Let me know if I can be of help with the UCS side.

In regards to licensing, you will need a license or you can run the 60 days trial period, not sure if that is enough to practice for the CCIE, pretty sure is not.

-Kenny

Hi Keny

Thanks for the response. No, the business edition call managers are not sufficient to build a CCIE Voice lab. I will need a UCS server capable of spinning out multiple VMs. Just looking to find the correct spec for such a device.

For the CUCM licensing I am ok. I am just wondering about VMware licenses for ESX