cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Creating VM or Linked VM request UCS cloud director from command line.

nileshjais
Level 1
Level 1

Dear All,

I am new to Cisco cloud director, I have been using vSphere SDK perl script to create/destroy VM, I would like to know if i need to do the same with UCS cloud director, Can someone point me a sample REST API based script, if the script is in Perl or Python it would be great help.

Also, Can i use my existing vSphere SDK based Perl script to request VM creation to Cisco UCS cloud director? if yes then how to do the same, any perquisite.

Regards,

Nilesh

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

rekkrish
Level 4
Level 4

UCSD provides JSON/XML based REST API and as such can be invoked from any client including Java/Perl/Python. Currently UCSD provides Java SDK only.

However, Perl, Python and other clients shall use JSON/XML directly to talk to UCSD.

Sample will like something like this:

/app/api/rest?formatType=json&opName=userAPIProvisionRequest&opData=}

Regards,

Rekha

View solution in original post

13 Replies 13

rekkrish
Level 4
Level 4

UCSD provides JSON/XML based REST API and as such can be invoked from any client including Java/Perl/Python. Currently UCSD provides Java SDK only.

However, Perl, Python and other clients shall use JSON/XML directly to talk to UCSD.

Sample will like something like this:

/app/api/rest?formatType=json&opName=userAPIProvisionRequest&opData=}

Regards,

Rekha

Thank you Rekha for your comments.

I guess opData would be the userAPIProvisionRequest option data, please correct me if i am wrong. So can we create json object and pass to this opData as request for VM creation. Could you please provide the sample if its possible.

I am new and learning to write web app for the same.

Regards,

Nilesh

Hi Rekha,

I have read the SDK document, I came across two APIs

userAPISubmitServiceRequest : This API is used to provision a VM