cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Nexus 1000v on VMware question

warquezho0612
Level 1
Level 1

Im new to UCS, our instructor explain to us that there are two ways to implement this virtually,

1) Software base - using nexus 1000v

2) Hardware base - using nexus 5000/7000

In our training, only the implementation of the nexus 1000v is though to us.

Now I'am in the client doing a demo installation, the hardware/software equipment that they have are

- UCS 5108 Chassis (4 halfwidth blades)

- 2x6120XP Fabric Interconnect

- vmware esxi / vsphere 4.1 / vcenter 4.1

Note: They don't have MDS switch for SAN (They have noSAN network as of the moment)

I've already installed the vmware ESXi host vsphere and vcenter. My question is does nexus 1000v a requirement for internal switching of the Operating System on the ESXi host on the B200 Blade server? Or a standalone vswitch on the vmware ESXi can do the job? I'm just a bit confuse if do I need to implement the nexus 1000v just like in our lab in our training...

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hi all,

In short, you are NOT required to utilize a Nexus 1000v when utilizing VMware ESX/ESXi on a UCS Blade. Besides the Nexus 1000v, you may utilize the standard vSwitch or Distributed vSwitch with UCS blades.

Additionally, there seems to be some confusion with many different concepts being cross-referenced, so I will try to clarify these.

1) VN-Link in Software (Nexus 1000v)

2) VN-Link in Hardware (Palo PTS, also known as VM-FEX)