cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

solution comparison

sansari
Level 1
Level 1

Looking for some information on UCS vs. other solutions.  I am looking at IBM System Director and it seems that I can manage some storage devices through its support of Storage Management Initiative.  And I wonder if the same functionality exists in the UCS solution.  I am new to UCS, and appreicate your advice.

5 Replies 5

rammuthaiya
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

IBM System Director is a software and it requires dedicated systems to install. This will result in additional total cost.

But in UCS, UCS manager is embadded in Fabric Interconnects. Please note that, through UCS manager we can not maintain storage directly.

Ramkumar.

Thanks for the reply. Would you have another look at what I just posted?  I appreciate the feedback.  My greater interest is in comparing solutions.

rewilkin
Level 1
Level 1

sansari,

UCSM, which is the Manager of the UCS platform strictly manages the system.  What you are asking if I am correct, is the option to see other devices within UCS.  There is UIM, it is a manager that allows you to see the UCS, EMC storage, Cisco MDS and even some other devices.  You cannot manage these or config these devices, but it allows one single pane of mgmt for all the devices.

UIM is part of a vBlock, which is confoguration of Cisco, UCS/MDS, EMC storage and VMware ESX.

See the quick slideshow on UIM below...

http://www.slideshare.net/robboyd/ionix-unified-infrastructure-manager-uim-overview-for-cisco-tv-feb10

Thanks for the reply.  It was very helpful.  I should have asked my question differently though as my greater interest is in comparing UCS solution with other private cloud solutions such as CloudBurst, Dell VIS, Oracle Exadata or Exalogic ( I am still learning the names ), and I believe Brocade has a solution also.