Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

UCS HA and VN-link questions

Hello Dears,

I'm new to the UCS and I have some questions concerning the HA, VN-link hardware and the dynamic vNIC policies.

As I understand we use the VN-link to allow VMs on the ESX to use a direct vNIC from the UCS and it will be mapped to veth on the fabric interconnect

I believe that I understand the concepts, but my problem in how to configure the full setup and when to use it:

1- when exactly we need to use the VN-link , and if it is used only if I will install ESX .

2- as I understand we use VN-link we need to configure dynamic vNIC allocation policies, is there any documents explain teh configuration steps for doing that, and how the dynamic vNICs will be allocated to the VMs.

3- in the case if the Dynamic VN-link, does that mean we don't need to configure a static vNICs and if we need to configure them , how they will be used, and how will be the configuration exactly.

4- in the Create vNIC Template part in the UCSM configuration guide, there is an option Target, which has one of 2 values, either Adapter or VM, is this related to the VN-link, and which option to use in each case.

5- How the HA will work in the case of I have VN-link with ESX , and is it true that we don't need to enable the fabric failover in this case , and why ? and how all will work together ( if I have 2 vCONs, on both of them I have created 2 VNIC and 2 vHBA , and as I understand each one of them is connected to the both IOMs.

6- there is a note in the UCS configuration guide that we may not be able to use the option " bring vNIC down, when the uplink is down, because in this case the traffic on the vHBA maybe affected, but if we did that , the OS will not detect that the vNIC is down so he will not enable teaming failover, so how it will work ?

I know I have a lot of questions, but I hope that you will able to help me .

Thanks in advance for your support.

Moamen