cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

UCS integration issue with Brocade switch

robin99
Level 1
Level 1

I am very new to the storage world and would need some help.

I am having issue at UCS integration with Brocade switch. The brocade switch is running FOC 6.4.1 and NPIV enable on the ports connecting to 6120XP. I I have done the pinning of VMware’s vHBA to the FC uplink but the switch could only see the WWPN and WWN of the fabric interconnect. All blade servers are powered up. I had reset the UCS blade too but no luck. The FC switch is using zoning without VSAN but at the fabric interconnects I use the default VSAN (1). The 6120Xps are having these detail:

• •- end-host for FC mode.
  • •- UCS 1.4(3m)
  • •- Each blade has M72KR card installed

I am not really sure if this integration will work honestly as all the sample design and confiig document I found are using VSAN. The brocade guy said VSAN is not used anymore as SAN Zoning is the better way. Has anyone done this kind of setup before or having some idea of what could be the fix? Any reference configuration is much appreciated.

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Robert Burns
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Robin,

Which flavor of M72KR cards are you using?  Emulex (E) or Qlogic (Q)?

There's no problem using UCS with brocade for FC.  UCS will utilize only VSAN 1 (default) as brocade doesn't support this concept. 

Are you trying to boot from SAN or just add a LUN to a local OS installation?

If you're doing a SAN boot, ensure you've added the Option ROM for the Emulex or Qlogic to the Host Firmware Package in the Service Profile for this host . Without it, the host will never attempt to boot from SAN.  Also ensure you've setup a boot policy with the Array targets properly configured.  An easy way to tell if the HBA Option ROM is loaded is to watch the server boot, and see if the Emulex or Qlogic Option ROM messages appear during the boot sequence.

Let's start there, and wait for your answers.